Facebook

Friday, 13 April 2018

Civil War California live on Facebook Begins Today!

Civil War California live on Facebook Begins Today!

Join us today, tomorrow, and this weekend on our Facebook page, where we will be coming to you live from California!

California may have been far from the deadliest battles of the Civil War, but its history is substantially woven into the fabric of the conflict. Indeed, debates over the state’s admittance into the Union inflamed sectional tensions in the decade before the war.

During the conflict, the Golden State bristled with forts, camps, and prisons, and raised or paid for troops who fought at battlefields across the country. Today, the state boasts Civil War connections galore, including well-preserved forts, veterans’ cemeteries, and some of best artifacts from the period.

Experience Civil War California live on Facebook as we join the National Park Service, CBS Studios, The Huntington Library, Facebook, and other great partners, traveling from San Francisco to San Diego to Los Angeles, allowing you to visit these places from the comfort of your computer, tablet, or smartphone!

Schedule

Facebook Live events, times, and locations are subject to change. Look for impromptu events as we have time!

Thursday, April 12:
12:30 p.m. PDT / 3:30 p.m. EDT — The Civil War in San Francisco
4:00 p.m. PDT / 7:00 p.m. EDT — Civil War Alcatraz!

Friday, April 13:
10:30 a.m. PDT/ 1:30 p.m. EDT — California Civil War Forts

Saturday, April 14:
11:00 a.m. PDT / 2:00 p.m. EDT — Live from the 1846 San Pasqual Battlefield!
4:00 p.m. PDT / 7:00 p.m. EDT — Civil War movies extravaganza at CBS Studios

Sunday, April 15:
9:00 a.m. PDT / 12:00 p.m. EDT — Behind the Scenes at the Huntington Library
12:00 p.m. PDT / 3:00 p.m. EDT — Camels and Camps at the Drum Barracks

Whether you are a novice or a full-on history nerd, expect to learn things you didn't know before. Join us for Civil War California Live!

The Civil War Trust